skip navigation


History of US Adult Soccer

On 26 August 1982, Chairman Milton Aimi Called the first Annual Meeting of the Senior Division of the United States Soccer Federation. The Federations went through a reorganization that year and the Senior Division became a separate member entity and not just a division of the USSF.

Over the years, the name changed to United States Senior Soccer Division to the United States Senior Soccer Association to the United States Amateur Soccer Association and to its present form, the United States Adult Soccer Association (USSA). Throughout these name changes, it always served amateur, adult soccer throughout the country. 

For many years, the Division/Association organized and was the keeper of cup competitions for men and women, including the US Open Cup, the second oldest continuous soccer cup competition in the world. While the organization is relatively  young in comparison to US Soccer, its origin and those of its member state associations go back to the start of the Federation in 1913 and prior. 

Past and Current Presidents of US Adult Soccer

1982-1983 Millton Aimi (Texas South)
1983-1984 Jim Depew (North Texas)
1984-1989 Edward Nunes (California North)
1989-1991 Millton Aimi (Texas South)
1991-1997 Gianfranco Borroni (Ohio North)
1997-2006 Mike Edwards (New Mexico)
2006-2010 Brooks McCormick (Florida)
2010-2014 Richard Groff (Eastern Pennsylvania)
2014-Current John Motta (New Hampshire)


Mission Statement

Guided by shared values of transparency, inclusiveness, integrity, diversity and tradition and as a member of the US Soccer family, USASA’s mission is to:

  • Administer, develop and promote participation in adult soccer within the United States through a safe and positive playing experience at all levels.
  • Identify, model and facilitate adoption of governance and administrative best practices for member organizations.
  • Promote the vision and all activities of the USASA and its member organizations to make “Soccer­­- your game for life.”
  • Assist member organizations and local communities in developing, improving and securing quality soccer fields and facilities.
  • Provide competitions and programs that encourage participation and growth of member organizations.
  • Promote quality and consistency in education, training and certification of referees, coaches and administrators.
  • Develop, strengthen and promote a unified soccer community.

USASA Structure

The United States Soccer Federation (USSF) is the National Governing Body for soccer in the United States, as recognized by the United States Olympic Committee. The USSF is organized into four general areas of soccer: a Youth Council, Adult Council, and Professional Council, as well as an Athlete’s Advisory Council. To join the Adult or Youth Council, an organization must qualify as a USSF “National Organization,” which means an organization offering programs in at least 26 states with a membership of at least 200 thousand. USASA is the only member of the USSF Adult Council. The United States Youth Soccer Association (USYSA) and the American Youth Soccer Organization (AYSO) are the members of the Youth Council. Major League Soccer, and the USL 1st division are members of the Professional Council.

The USASA is administered from the national office in Chicago, IL. The office is staffed by the USASA Executive Director, an Administration & Operations Manager, Membership & League Relationship Manager, Website/Communication Manager and a Content Manager. 

The USASA is divided into four regions. Each region elects four officers for two-year terms to lead a regional council comprised of representatives of each of the member State Associations. Certain national programs such as the National Amateur Cup, progress from the state level to regional level. Therefore, the regional council is empowered to conduct these competitions and programs for the USASA.

USASA’s governing board is its Executive Committee, comprised of the President, Vice-President, Treasurer, Secretary, four Regional Directors, two At-Large Members and one Independent Director. The President and Vice President are also members of the National Board of Directors of USSF. The USASA Executive Committee meets roughly every two to three months, often concurrently with national events.

USASA is comprised of 54 State Associations, who handle registration of players, teams, leagues, and referees. The number of State Associations exceeds the number of states as a result of split State Associations in Texas, California, Pennsylvania, New York, and Ohio. 

In addition to State Association members, USASA rules provide for National and Multi-State Leagues as members of USASA.  USASA National Leagues must have a minimum of thirty-six (36) teams. The teams must be located among all four (4) time zones of the continental United States (Eastern, Central, Mountain & Pacific) and must have a minimum season length of three (3) months. The USASA currently has two men's national leagues, the National Premier Soccer League and the UPSL, and two national women's leagues, the Women's Premier Soccer League and the UWS.  A Multi-State League must have a minimum of sixteen (16) teams. The teams must be located in at least among four (4) State Associations. A minimum of two (2) teams must be located in at least three (3) separate State Associations. Multi-State Leagues must also have a minimum season length of three (3) months.